What To Do If You Are Accused of Sexual Assault?


If an individual is accused of sexual assault in Frisco, Texas, they need to retain exceptional defense representation. The offense of sexual assault encompasses different types of sexual conduct, including what is commonly known as “rape.” Texas law takes sexual offenses very seriously, and sexual offenses carry a stigma in the United States that can follow you for the rest of your life. 

If an individual is convicted of sexual assault in Texas, they could face incarceration in state prison. They may also be forced to register as a sex offender, pay expensive fines, and lose career prospects and close relationships with family and friends. Registered sex offenders may be unable to find gainful employment or adequate housing. 

If you are accused of sexual assault, the first thing you need to do is consult with a Frisco sex crimes defense attorney who can assess your case. 

Sexual Assault Charges

Texas law allows sexual assault charges to apply when someone allegedly caused:

  • Penetration of a sexual organ or anus without consent
  • Penetration of a person’s mouth with a sexual organ without consent
  • Contact or penetration of another person’s sexual organ with someone else’s mouth or sexual organ without consent
  • Any of the above conduct with a child (with or without “consent”)

Aggravated sexual assault can involve the above types of conduct plus one or more of the following:

  • Causing bodily injury
  • Threatening serious injury, death, kidnapping, or trafficking
  • Exhibiting a deadly weapon
  • Giving the victim an intoxicating substance to render them unable to resist
  • Having a victim under age 14, elderly, or disabled

Sexual assault is a second-degree felony, which comes with a possible 20 years in prison, and aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree felony, which can mean up to 99 years in prison. 

Take Action Now

The first thing anyone should do who is facing sexual assault allegations is to retain an experienced criminal defense lawyer. Attorneys trained in criminal defense have the knowledge and experience to guide a defendant through the criminal justice system. Investigators and detectives will often try to use nefarious tactics to get a defendant to admit to specific facts, and a trained attorney can protect the defendant from these tactics. 

The accused individual should never speak to law enforcement officers without an attorney by his or her side. Every criminal defendant in the United States has the right to counsel. Interrogators may try to play mind games with an accused person and manipulate him or her into providing information to the law enforcement officers, so having representation is critical.   The police are gathering evidence to arrest and charge you with a crime-it is imperative that you speak to an attorney first before speaking with anyone in law enforcement.    When investigators and detectives say ‘I just want to know the truth’ or “We just want to get your side of the story so we have a complete picture’ , what they are really trying to get is you to confess to a felony that might send you to prison for the rest of your life.   

Sexual assault is a serious offense, and every accused needs to take advantage of every constitutional right afforded to them. Retaining an experienced attorney and focusing on defense strategy are effective tools against the prosecutors and investigators who will often do whatever they can to obtain a sexual assault conviction. 

Speak with a Frisco Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you are accused of sexual assault, a conviction is not inevitable. Many allegations are false or based on insufficient evidence, and the right criminal defense attorney can identify the best defense strategy in your case.  Mike Price is the only double Board-Certified Criminal Defense Attorney in Collin County.  Contact the law firm of J. Michael Price II right away if you are under investigation or facing any sex charges.